Week 3: Narrating Yourself

Today we looked into our first assignment, to create a website with a professional and a biographical statement that showcased our story so far into our profession and practice.

In order understand the narrative used in a biographical statement, I looked at two examples of such writing. I looked at Chris Anderson and Jess Cochrane as my two main focal points, however, I did look into other practitioners as well to deeper refine the layouts and presentation styles.

Chris Anderson’s site is very clean cut and offers great variety within his work and practice. Being a student from the BCM program and following the marketing and advertising route in terms of career paths. I found Chris’ multifaceted works and writing style as an inspiration for my own website.

Screen Shot 2017-08-08 at 4.22.01 PM.png

Jess Cochrane’s site offered a very minimalistic and clean cut layout as well, one I gravitated a lot. The simplicity in her writing and presentation allows her work to shine brightly against her personal statement.

Screen Shot 2017-08-08 at 4.22.52 PM.png

Both these artists have coherently produced websites that encapsulate who they are and what their practices are, looking deeper into the past, present, and future. Their clean and simple sites allow for easy access to all of their works and offer a synopsis for what the works are.

The interaction and design of Chris’ website highlight the strategy of STAR – situation, task/target, action, and result or resolution. It is visible to see what his process was and how that influenced his work with the addition of an artist statement. Unfortunately, Jess’ website does not hold a strong foundation of the STAR strategy but does present her work clearly.

blublu.org, personally I found complicated to use, there was too much going on though I feel like this particular presentation showcases the type of artist. However, I could not find the personal statement on the site, therefore, I don’t believe this site effectively presents the work in a proactive way.

Screen Shot 2017-08-08 at 4.24.03 PM.png

A practitioner in the field whose website does a great job of showcasing their work with statements of who they are relating to the STAR strategy is the advertising agency, McCann and in particular McCann London.

Screen Shot 2017-08-08 at 4.18.26 PM.png

Skills and qualities

The five skills that I could include in my statement relating to my field would be:

– Video production
– Audio production
– Photography
– multi-faceted learner
– Data collection

My skills and qualities need to be refined and directed more to my field, therefore I will have to take some more time to think about what these are and how I would use them in my statement.

Draft of my statement:

Binaisha Haria is a British born marketing and digital media graduate, currently based in Australia. Her media artworks explore elements of sound, video, and photography, and how these can be used within the marketing world.

Her multifaceted approach to marketing stems through the elements of media arts allowing her work to explore the aspects of social and guerrilla marketing, which include elements of the unexpected, drastic, action, desire and attention. Central to this is the relationship between society and subjectivity, through the influence of changing technology.

She has a bachelors degree in communications and media studies, with a major in digital media and communications and a minor in marketing communications and advertising from the University of Wollongong.

Works

The works I’m thinking of using are:

The Creator – Uncanny photo series
Innocents – Cameraless film
Dancing With The Devil video
– Bonds strategic planning report and poster
– Research reports: Music and the Mind and Stop and Drop
– Digital Artefacts: Through Our Eyes and Mega Talks

One thought on “Week 3: Narrating Yourself

  1. I love the thoughts you had on each of the websites you used for reference. I used both Chis and Jess’ websites as well, I agree with your comments on their layout and had very similar comments about their sites. Building on that, I also thought that Jess’ layout may have been constructed like that (less informatively) to make the viewer dig deeper into her website and try and find more information about her in that way, whereas Chris’ was more informative from the beginning, which could potentially mean that the viewer does not look as far into the site. However, the alternative outcome of both of those suggestions could be possible too.

    I like the way you have constructed your statement and I think that it presents your profile well. I also like the works that you have chosen to showcase as they compliment your statement by demonstrating the catalogue of skills you have listed.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

