The Astronaut Filter

Bs3fYfPCMAAFmx9

Buzz Aldrin, first Astronaut ‘selfie’ in 1966 during the Gemini 12 mission.

At one stage or another, as children we’ve all said, “WE WANT TO GO TO SPACE!!”

I think mine came to me while I was watching Star Trek with my mum, granted that was a different kind of space, one that I probably wouldn’t ever go to. Nonetheless, it was space, and that’s all that matters.

This happened to be the focus of curiosity in my lecture this week, and it got me thinking about the eventual report that I will have to write about. I was struck by the, what I like to call, ‘Astronaut filter’ in relation to the concept of reflexivity. When you look at pictures of Astronaut ‘selfies’ you see their position and views of where they are. Instead of being objective with their photo taking skills and only take a picture of the Earth, they take pictures of themselves with the reflection of the Earth in their visor.

With this in mind, I want to use reflexivity in my own research into music and emotions. How it is that our emotions can be so greatly affected by that of music and vice verse, that music can change our emotions. I want to be able to use my love for music and my already formed views to conduct my research into this particular area.

I am a great lover of music and can definitely say from personal experience that I have been affected by music as it has changed my emotions. My curiosity now grows with wanting to understand why is this and how this can be.

I want to leave you with one question, have your emotions ever been affected by music?

At one stage or another, as children we’ve all said, “WE WANT TO GO TO SPACE!!”

I think mine came to me while I was watching Star Trek with my mum, granted that was a different kind of space, one that I probably wouldn’t ever go to. Nonetheless, it was space, and that’s all that matters.

This happened to be the focus of curiosity in my lecture this week, and it got me thinking about the eventual report that I will have to write about. I was struck by the, what I like to call, ‘Astronaut filter’ in relation to the concept of reflexivity. When you look at pictures of Astronaut ‘selfies’ you see their position and views of where they are. Instead of being objective with their photo taking skills and only take a picture of the Earth, they take pictures of themselves with the reflection of the Earth in their visor.

Screen Shot 2016-03-10 at 4.27.59 PM copy copy copyWith this in mind, I want to use reflexivity in my own research into music and emotions. How it is that our emotions can be so greatly affected by that of music and vice verse, that music can change our emotions. I want to be able to use my love for music and my already formed views to conduct my research into this particular area.

I am a great lover of music and can definitely say from personal experience that I have been affected by music as it has changed my emotions. My curiosity now grows with wanting to understand why is this and how this can be.

I want to leave you with one question, have your emotions ever been affected by music?

At one stage or another, as children we’ve all said, “WE WANT TO GO TO SPACE!!”

I think mine came to me while I was watching Star Trek with my mum, granted that was a different kind of space, one that I probably wouldn’t ever go to. Nonetheless, it was space, and that’s all that matters.

This happened to be the focus of curiosity in my lecture this week, and it got me thinking about the eventual report that I will have to write about. I was struck by the, what I like to call, ‘Astronaut filter’ in relation to the concept of reflexivity. When you look at pictures of Astronaut ‘selfies’ you see their position and views of where they are. Instead of being objective with their photo taking skills and only take a picture of the Earth, they take pictures of themselves with the reflection of the Earth in their visor.

With this in mind, I want to use reflexivity in my own research into music and emotions. How it is that our emotions can be so greatly affected by that of music and vice verse, that music can change our emotions. I want to be able to use my love for music and my already formed views to conduct my research into this particular area.

I am a great lover of music and can definitely say from personal experience that I have been affected by music as it has changed my emotions. My curiosity now grows with wanting to understand why is this and how this can be.

I want to leave you with one question, have your emotions ever been affected by music?

Leave a Reply

