Songs That Could Save Your Life.

tumblr_static_7si10wi83w4cc0gkosww4oc8_640_v2

Life has a way of coming in the way of all the happy moments, all the moments that you cherish. When you think you have it all figured out, it comes crashing down on you, and you feel lost and helpless. Not knowing where to go from here, or what to turn to for help.

Music can transcend you to a different world, or a moment in time that you captured within the movement of the drums or riff of the guitar. Music heals and does not destroy.

I always get a little sad when a song comes to an end, it’s the moment I realise I have to come back to reality, a place that I don’t always like.

But “every song has a CODA, a final movement. Whether it fades out or crashes away, every song ends. Is that any reason not to enjoy the music? The truth is, there is nothing to be afraid of. It’s just life.” – Ellie Harp

Ever since I watched this episode of One Tree Hill, this quote has resonated within me. Music is my saviour, it helps me when I’m down and can continue my mood for the rest of the day. If I didn’t have music, my life would not be the same.

In saying that, I thought I would share with you my top 5 songs that really save me. Now this list really could be longer but that would make this post extremely long. So I’ve tried to cut it down as much as I can.

1) All About You – McFly

McFly, was the first band I truly fell in love with, and to this day they are still my favourite band. This British boy band, brought to me the wonders of my youth, I met some of the best people I know through the common interest in this band. One event that really sticks out for me, was one sunny Saturday afternoon, my friends and I decided to go to one of the local school summer fairs in hope to meet Tom Fletcher’s (Singer-songwriter and guitarist) dad, who worked as the caretaker at my friends primary school. Granted it was a bit stalkerish, but it’s a memory I will always cherish.

2) For A Pessimist, I’m Pretty Optimistic – Paramore

Now I was pretty late to the party with this song, didn’t know about Paramore until 2008, when I met my best friend for the first time. She introduced me to this particular some, because it was one of her favourites, which suits her right, with her personality. But while listening to this song created a start to the best friendship I’ve ever had. Although we are 10,553 miles away, and haven’t seen each other in 3 years, we still have the best of friendships. She has become more than my friend, she’s my sister.

3) Don’t You (Forget About Me) – Simple Minds

Now this may come as a shock for most of you, but this song came to me before I ever watch ‘The Breakfast Club’. This song reminds me of one person in particular, who never let life get him down and still remains like that to this day. Whenever I hear this song, I think about him and it takes me back to being in high school, around people who made me the type of person I am today.

4) Carry On My Wayward Son – Kansas

This song is one I’ve recently come across, while watching ‘Supernatural’. This song just reminds me of how fast things can pass you by; when you don’t expect it everything’s gone or changed. This song really meant something to me, during a rough time for me. It reminded me that nothing could bring me down, unless I let it.

5) Non-believer – La Rocca

Recent I have felt so lost in life and within myself, I didn’t know what I was doing or why. Everything was starting to blur together into one image that I did not like. But hearing this song took me away from that darkness. It spoke to me when I thought there was no way out, it lifted me up and transcended me to where I am now. A happier version of myself.

I could go on with so many more song that have affected me in various areas of my life and my memory. But for now this is where I’ll leave it. Remember that music will always be there when other things or people aren’t. If you’re afraid to let people in, let music in. Alternatively, do what makes you happy and leads you back to who you want to be.

tumblr_m4tkcyyOWD1qkwu39o1_500

Leave a Reply

