Curiosity Killed The Cat…

millions-saw-the-apple-fall-but-newton-asked-why-2

Curiosity, a strong desire to know something. The process that causes you to find out more, beyond your wildest dreams.

As children our desire to know things is unbelievable. We are always asking “why?” From the very moment we are able to form our own opinions we are greeted by a friend, a friend, which promises to always keep our minds open and keep us on our toes.

That friend is curiosity. As we grow older our minds change but our curiosity remains the same.

I was going to tell you about how I found curiosity in film and music, but then something happened to me today while I was on the train on my way to Sydney. I was sat on the train and not 10 minutes had it been since I had sat down, did an older Polish woman, greet me and begin to talk to me about her faith in God and Christianity.

It was from this moment where my already dormant curiosity had surfaced once again. But not in the sense of if there was a bigger being out there but more of the curiosity of the other passenger’s reactions, including my own.

It is said that there are two topics that you should never talk about in public, religion and politics. But then it got me wondering, much like anything else both these topics are much like anything else, in the sense that we all have our own opinions and we just have to deal with that. But for some reason, religion in particular can cause some serious outbreaks.

The most frustrating yet curiosity element of this topic is that we’re never going to really know the truth about religion; it’s always going to be based upon interpretation. Paul Griffiths (2009), makes great mention to this by stating “unmasking curiosity as a destructive and offensive device…amounts to nothing less than a…radical critique of superficiality and constant distraction.”

I feel that Griffiths is definitely on to something here. To try and unmask the curiosity that is often found with/in religion you are opening a door to complete destruction to those that feel there is no curiosity to be found. This is a very delicate subject, and honestly I don’t know if I have done much of it justice.

I feel that I will always have curiosity in religion and how people go about spreading or interpreting it. But I also feel that we have a long way to go before we can put our curious thoughts to bed.

With that being said,

“The cure for boredom is curiosity, there is no cure for curiosity” – Dorothy Parker


References:

Stanley Fish, 2009, ‘Does Curiosity Kill More Than the Cat?’, The New York Times, viewed 2 March 2016 <https://webapps.library.uow.edu.au/refcite/style-guides/html/&gt;

Ellen Parr, 2016, Quotes, Goodreads, viewed 2 March 2016 <http://www.goodreads.com/quotes/2027-the-cure-for-boredom-is-curiosity-there-is-no-cure&gt;

2 thoughts on “Curiosity Killed The Cat…

  1. Hello, nice to see this new blog out there early. I’m really interested in the story of the woman who sat down with you, because I think I found myself curious about her. What makes people able to do that? And how did the other passengers react?

    Just a thought about your use of Paul Griffiths — if I was curious to know a bit more about that quote, where could I find it? It’s always good I think to make sure quotations are hyperlinked, so that your curious reader (me) can follow through. In this case, I was really interested to see what the context was for his quite critical position. What was he talking about?

    Welcome back to thinking in public.

    Liked by 1 person

    • She was a very curious woman, I have never really come across anyone like that before. She seemed very open and didn’t seem to be phased that other people didn’t share her believes, but was so confident in what she believed in and wan’t afraid in the slightest to share it. As for the other passengers, myself included in this were a bit struck back with how she was able to sit down next to someone and just talk here heart away. As it was quiet a touchy subject I think we were all thinking the same thing, that there is a time and a place for that, as well as knowing when to stop. The more that I think about it, the more I realise that she was just trying to share something that she really believed in and if I had been more confident in my own right maybe we could have had an interesting conversation about it.
      As for the link to the article, I have added a hyperlink with his name so you could find out more about him and what else he was talking about, as well as the other people associated in the article.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

