Heads Or Tails

Screen Shot 2015-05-27 at 8.31.06 PM

When looking through William Gibson’s twitter feed, I found that there were many tweets that caught my attention however none that came with coherent ideas that I could use. That was until I came across the retweet above. It was here that multiple ideas came to me at once, though none that would make the cut, that was until I thought about it in a different light.

As I didn’t want to create a video that reflected the literal meaning of the tweet, I decided to take a different approach by looking at other aspects of life that have changed and may be seen as making our future worse than we “could have possibly imagined”.

Before even deciding on my concept, I decided to look up Murphy’s Law stating, “Anything that can go wrong, will go wrong”. This sparked an interest with me, connecting it closely to the use of money and more particularly coins. I had watched a video, which used a coin for its childish game of heads or tails. This was where I made the connection between the coin, Murphy’s Law and Gibson’s tweet. That money was the damager that would always go wrong but was also our way of letting it choose fate for us.

Leave a Reply

